Where did that come from ?

Alanp35

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Cricket, golf
I'm still fairly new at this T1 game, except it is not a game.
I woke at 07:20 got up, checked bloods which was 5.1, not too bad for an overnight fast. Pulled on shorts and a T and went out to bring dustbin back to house - bin day. Bin was only 20 yards away. Whilst walking to the bin my eyesight became blurred, I started to shake and realised I was having a hypo. I got back to the house and again checked bloods, 1.7. How can this be ?
5.1 at 7:30 and 1.7 at 8:05. How did this happen? Recovery undertaken and now all is fine - feeling rough but all is fine.

Bluetit1802

Legend
Type of diabetes
Type 2 (in remission!)
Treatment type
Diet only
Blimey, that is scary. I hope someone comes along to make suggestions.

Jaylee

Oracle
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
One idea comes to mind.. Possible morning low before waking causing a "liver dump" raising & peaking at "5.1", then the activity took,what was left. Which may have been on the down turn anyway...?

I could be talking bin bags..!? ;)

Last edited by a moderator:

Charles Robin

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Are you on a basal/bolus regime? If so, do you give yourself your basal in the morning? If so, is it possible you accidentally put short acting in the pen instead of long acting? I have made that mistake before! As you are new to diabetes you might still be producing a small amount of insulin. If your pancreas decided to be a bit more efficient than usual this morning, and added some unexpected fast acting to the mix, that could explain it.

Reactions: 2 people

Alanp35

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Cricket, golf
Hi Charles Robin
Thx for your message.