Why Is My Blood Sugar Rising In The Afternoon/evening For No Obvious Reason

james122

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
HIGH blood sugars!
Ok so I'm quite annoyed at the moment but because every afternoon my blood sugar begins the rise about 4 + hours after I have eaten lunch and it's really annoying :(

I've tried a lot of things to help and try and find out what this may be but it happens regardless.
My post meal blood sugar 2 hours after is around 5.2 most of the time so it's not the meal and then I don't eat anything but it still rises to 10+.

I was hoping someone on here could offer me some answers to why this is happening and maybe if Someone else has expirenced this they could tell my what's the best way to correct it as it is a very stubborn high to!

TeamBeal

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
I'm no expert but maybe it could be to do with the GI of the food you are eating v's the effectiveness of your fast acting insulin?
For example, if my son eats rice, we bolus correctly and 2 hours post meal he's good, yet rice doesn't digest immediately so a few hours later, once the Novarapid has peaked, his sugars increase because he's still digesting the rice and has no fast acting insulin to account for it.
It could be work keeping a food diary so you can look for patterns in the food you eat?
It could also be that your basal, your long lasting insulin needs increasing as its not enough to see you through your 24hours?

I think I'd look at the GI of your meals and go from there, if it's salad or a fast GI meal then maybe it could be your long lasting and you can do checks to confirm that.

Speak to your DSN or even your dietician with your results but have a good couple of days proof first so they have something to go on.