Worried about son aged 5

meplusthree

Type of diabetes
Don't have diabetes
Hi there, hope someone can help me, i'm completely new to diabetes and i'm worried my son may have it.

He's been constantly thirsty and weeing alot and this weekend he was complaining of headaches, he's never had a headache before and it twigged that it might be diabetes. I have a glucose monitor for myself as i like to check mine from time to time so i checked his last night before bed and it was 21.1, checked again this morning as soon as he woke and it was 6, he had some toast and i checked again an hour later and it was 13.8. Would this suggest diabetes? I know these readings are high but are the worryingly high?

I have today called our gp and the receptionist was not concerned at all and the earliest he could be seen was monday next week. Should they not be seeing him asap? Should i be getting him seen sooner or shall i wait untill monday?

Any help much appreciated :)

CarbsRok

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
pasta ice cream and chocolate
Did you wash your son's hands before you tested him? If so then You need an urgent apt not sometime next week.

catapillar

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Those readings are high and I would not be waiting a week for an appointment - if I were you I would call 111 or take your son to a&e. Although he sounds fine and is probably not in any immediate danger, the sooner he gets seen the better.

Did he have clean hands when the readings were done? Do you have any means of checking for ketones?

Reactions: 2 people

meplusthree

Type of diabetes
Don't have diabetes
Hi there, thanks for replying, yes clean hands and no i dont have anything for testing ketones, is that something i would be able to get at the local chemist? My partner suggested a&e if he still has high readings but i worry they will think i'm nuts and wonder why i have taken him there. I hadn't thought of the 111 service i may try that this evening