You can't argue with stupid

julie42

Hi, I wanted to share a strange conversation I had with a family friend yesterday.
I was diagnosed with type 2 on Tuesday and put on metformin as my hospital results came back 8.2. It was a shock but my dad was fit and active when diagnosed but nearly 60, I am 42 and not a sweet tooth. I have learned so much from this site, I thought after dad has been diabetic for 20 years and had hypos I was an expert. How wrong I was, I never knew it was carbs like potatoes, I thought desserts. Anyway back to my story.

Yesterday was a low day, my 2 hr levels have been getting to 10.4, I am paying for the strips as my GP refused. I had a wobble and cried at lunch not knowing what to eat. After "having a word" with myself I was ok until the phone rang. The person who phoned is diabetic and I moaned away about the metformin and how the doctor agreed to change to slow release as I have a bad stomach anyway, how I never knew it was carbs and my levels. The Answer I got stopped me in my tracks. They told me never read the leaflet with tablets, just take them. Eat what I like and just take the said tablets and stop filling my head full of nonsense on web sites and books. I was speechless, I said how I must get to grips with this due to my age and I want to be well, once I figure out a diet plan that suits me I will be fine but I feel the reduced carbs must play a part. They disagreed and rung off thinking I am going potty.

How do you argue with stupid? If they had not been diabetic then maybe I could excuse the ack of knowledge but to just do as you like and continue to increase the tablets is down right crazy

I am sort of laughing today how stubborn folk can be but I thought I would share to see if anyone else has had anything similar

Jaxx01

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin