Your gut bacteria determines spike in blood sugar levels

MarkLondon

Type of diabetes
Prediabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
Did anyone see last nights "trust me I'm a doctor"?

It seems research in Israel has concluded that the spikes in blood sugar levels can vary from person to person depending on your gut bacteria.

For example, one person can eat a load of chocolate and have a dramatic increase in glucose levels whereas for someone else it will have no effect.

And eating natural fruit for some can be just as bad as can be eating sweets for others.

It seems the conventional idea that too many carbs can be bad for diabetics seems to have gone out of the window! :(

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p03gqssd

Reactions: 6 people

britishpub

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
I think the research shows that individual gut bacteria have a different effect on how your body processes individual foods. As usual the BBC gave us a rather dumbed down version.

It is extremely interesting research, and the papers make interesting reading.

This could have a major impact on the understanding of nutrition.

Reactions: 2 people

MarkLondon

Type of diabetes
Prediabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
Does raise the question as to whether some people are just as likely to get diabetes if they have a high protein - low carb diet and whether in fact pure sugar has any effect at all on increased glucose levels. It might be the case that you can't stop diabetes unless you know how your bacteria is controlling your body.

Reactions: 2 people

seadragon

Type of diabetes
Prediabetes
Treatment type
Diet only