falling of the rails

das63

Hi all
i was told i had diabetes type 2 in jan this year and instantly changed my life style ,
i lost quite a bit weight ,ate all the right foods, even stopped smoking,this lasted for about 4 mouths,
i have started smoking again ,eating everything i shouldn't,
is this a normal thing people have gone thro i feel like im rebelling against my condition im taking 2 met a day and despretly want to get back to health living before its to late any advise would be appreciated

Sanober

Dislikes
Not really knowing what's going on inside my Endocrine system!!!
Hi, I think the mistake we make when we get diagnosed is trying to change all in one go.

I've tried many drastic measures since I was diagnosed in March, I'm still learning and I'm sure there are folk here who will confess after many years of being Diabetic they're still learning too. I went through the denial stage, the anger stage and the I don't give a **** stage.

I've learned many useful things from the forum and one great piece of advice is accepting that we're stuck with this illness for the rest of our lives therefore we have time to manage it.

So if you're back on the cigs, I can understand why, it's a stressful time for you and you've only been diagnosed a few months. (I'm an ex smoker, I quit 8 years ago - wish I can do the same with booze though...but I do like my wine and G&Ts LOL ).

Don't be too hard on yourself, you didn't cause your Diabetes but the good news is you can manage it. So enjoy your cig and unhealthy eating today.

Tomorrow is a new day :)

p.s I'm recovering from an epic night of red wine, bag of crisps and five chocs out of the Heroes box! I've also just finished 2 Ginger nut biscuits...so we all have our down times.

ebony321

Dislikes
Tomatoes, Rude people, Bees!
das63 said:
Hi all
i was told i had diabetes type 2 in jan this year and instantly changed my life style ,