snacks

chefdee

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Can I ask what you eat for a snack, as I am a newbie blood tester I am avoiding all obvious carbs as they seem to send my Blood Sugar level quite high, last Thursday my fasting Blood level was 17 it has come down each morning and today it was 10.3, I am keeping a food diary and so far bread and potaoes send it back into the high teens.... previously if I was hungry I'd have a sandwich or perhaps a bag of crisps, now I'm having a few mixed nuts which seem to be OK but I'm not over keen, so any ideas would be appreciated, I have looked on the what have you eaten today post but not had much luck

dawnmc

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Non-insulin injectable medication (incretin mimetics)
Boiled eggs, cheese, ham etc.

Lamont D

Oracle
Type of diabetes
Reactive hypoglycemia
Treatment type
I do not have diabetes
Can I ask what you eat for a snack, as I am a newbie blood tester I am avoiding all obvious carbs as they seem to send my Blood Sugar level quite high, last Thursday my fasting Blood level was 17 it has come down each morning and today it was 10.3, I am keeping a food diary and so far bread and potaoes send it back into the high teens.... previously if I was hungry I'd have a sandwich or perhaps a bag of crisps, now I'm having a few mixed nuts which seem to be OK but I'm not over keen, so any ideas would be appreciated, I have looked on the what have you eaten today post but not had much luck

The thing is, why are thinking snacking?

You should be either thinking eating enough for three meals a day, preferably low carb, with nothing in between as much as possible.

Or you should be eating smaller meals, little and often to get you through the day!

You shouldn't be doing both. As you would be eating too much.

You've done well on getting your blood glucose levels down so far.
If you want them down further and hopefully lose weight, then plate size is important!

Best wishes.