Anyone on Insulin.

ClaireG 06

I'm waiting to see a consultant at the moment to see if i can go on Byetta or need to go on insulin. The DN thinks it's more likely i will be put on insulin. I know everyone is different but how often do you inject? Do you have to inject/eat at the same time each day? How do you manage when out and about? I've also lost over 2 stone and am worried about putting weight back on if taking insulin.

At the moment i'm on Gliclazide 120mg twice a day but still getting very high readings. Am trying to low carb to. I was dx'd three years ago was on D&E,then metformin which i didnt tolerate, back to D&E, then had DKA and pneumonia just before christmas. I also have arthritis and raynauds syndrome and take Ramipril 5mg for BP. Asthma and Lupus are now being questioned.

JIMDOG1

Dislikes
patranising dr and nurses lol
Hi Claireg 06

I was diagnosed type 2 kesodosis i think thats dka aswell sorry if im wrong im a newbie, last month and put on insulin and metformin.

I current dosage is as follows 3 shots of nova rapid rotating round my big gut :lol: at meal times rougthly round same time and 1 injection of lantus long acting around 22.00 with metformin 3x day at same meal times.

I have no probs with injections realy fine needle and with weight gain my dn reconds i could control that with diet and exercise ok its cold at moment and windy with pos rain so im sitting here lol.
I have pouch that carries every thing with me and i dont mind injecting if i need to with people around im only concerned with my health at mo not what other people think they can call me a druggie i aint bothered :lol:

Jim

searley

Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Diabetes, not having Jaffa Cake
ive been on insulin now for a month