Are carbs worse than sugar???

jiggle

Hi everyone
I'm new to diabetes and i'm getting very confused with some of the topics on here, but i'm learning while i'm reading! Can someone please explain to me why i get high readings 2 hrs after food when i've eaten carbs but i'm not so bad after i've eaten sweet foods. I'm at the point where i am testing every food type i eat and its happening all the time. Bread, potatoes, pasta and rice are a big NO but a biscuit, slice of cheesecake doesn't seem to be too bad. Typical reading 2hrs after carbs are up to 180 but after sugar it can be back down to around 130 2hrs after eating. I was under the impression that all sweet things are a big no no. I suppose whats good for one is not good for another...keep on testing is the answer maybe?

I'm a new member so i'm hoping to learn loads on here about my newly diagnosed Type 2.

Thankyou to everybody in anticipation!

Edit.
For the benefit of Members :
180 mg/dl = 10 mmol/l
130 mg/dl = 7.2 mmol/l

anniep

welcome aboard

Sorry I don't understand the measurements 180 and 130 but make the following suggestions -

Maybe it has to do with the amount of carbs you are eating? a biscuit isn't so much, but a portiion potatoes/rice/pasta may be much bigger. Have you tried weighing the pasta and potatoes, you may be surprised at how little you can eat and keep the carb count down.

Or maybe the biscuit/cakes are spiking earlier that 2 hours and you are missing the highest point?

Others may be along soon with other suggestions.

noblehead

Guru
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Disrespectful people
jiggle,