Berberine - has anyone used this instead of Metformin in Type 2 diabetes?

Ruthjo

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Hi, I am fairly new to Metformin, and have suffered many side effects . Has anyone used Berberine as an alternative?

Kernow Debra

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
I too suffered badly with Metformin, thankfully was only on it a short while.
I did then try some Berberine from British Supplements, all was well for 24 hours then all hell broke loose!
Metformin was tame in comparison, no idea if it will help you. The only way I guess is to try.
Maybe a small packet to start.

Now I’m diet controlled, no meds and very thankful.

• Informative
Reactions: Lainie71 and Pipp

catinahat

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
Reality tv
Welcome @Ruthjo
All types of medication come with their own side effects and it seems to be a bit of a lottery if you are affected or not.
Many of us have managed to reduce or even avoid medication altogether by not eating the the things that cause our high blood sugar.
Have a look at the link for the nutritional thingy at the end of this post. It could help you to avoid the dreaded Metformin.

Reactions: Lainie71

Lainie71

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
The term "big boned" lol repeatedly told this growing up!
Welcome @Ruthjo
All types of medication come with their own side effects and it seems to be a bit of a lottery if you are affected or not.
Many of us have managed to reduce or even avoid medication altogether by not eating the the things that cause our high blood sugar.
Have a look at the link for the nutritional thingy at the end of this post. It could help you to avoid the dreaded Metformin.
Funny, I still have that on my kitchen cupboard door and still to this day take reference from it, only yesterday in fact

MissMuffett

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)