finger pricking

karen8967

Master
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
is there a knack for finger pricking as after 5 months my fingers are so sore and black an blue any advice very welcome x

Rachox

Oracle
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
I reversed my Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
I've been testing for four months and get a little soreness sometimes but not too bad. I prick the sides of my finger tips, I rotate fingers, I have a different finger or thumb for each day and press for 20 or so seconds after a prick. If I reach a day for a particular finger and it's at all sore I use one not allocated to a day! It's a bit anal but it works for me. I also regularly rub hand cream into my fingers.

Reactions: karen8967

therower

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi @karen8967 . Sorry to hear of your sore/ battered finger tips. A few tips, apologies if you already do my suggestions.
Warm your hands/ fingers. Warm water or rubbing.
Rotate fingers, use both outer edges, move up and down from knuckle to finger tip.
Occasionally soak your fingers, then give them a gentle rub with a pumice stone to remove old and hard skin.
Moisturise with a quality hand cream.
Purchase a good lancet pen if needs be.
Change lancet.
Be confident, don't dither.
Finally, remember you're after a sample of blood, you're not drilling for oil !!! Make sure you have the lancet pen set to the depth that only breaks the surface of skin and not hitting bone.
Hope you find some relief.

karen8967

Master
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
I've been testing for four months and get a little soreness sometimes but not too bad. I prick the sides of my finger tips, I rotate fingers, I have a different finger or thumb for each day and press for 20 or so seconds after a prick. If I reach a day for a particular finger and it's at all sore I use one not allocated to a day! It's a bit anal but it works for me. I also regularly rub hand cream into my fingers.