hi newbie here

medic81

hello all,

I am.new here, so plz do go easy on me, lol, and iam from scotland also. forstly I am very glad to.be jioning u all on this forum, and I hope I can both learn, and similtaneously be of valid contribution.

I do not had diabetes, now I know you wil all.be thinking, then why hell u on here. well I here for various reasons. I have a degree in sportas science, so I have knowledge and sports specific interest in chemistry, and how the human body uses, insulin, from a sporting natural physiolgical stance, but also, iam currently trying to study pharmacology. although, where the real relevance comes in is my uncle had diabetes, and sadly he died of conditions which were exacerbated by his poor management, and understanding of the disease. so I therefore want to learn write about from indiviuals who are involved in sport, and make others aeware, as not enough people appreiate the complications and complexities, and prevalence of such a disease. so I hope u all accept my interest, and I very respectfull of everyone.

thanku.

Camilla

Dislikes
Negative people with closed minds.
Welcome.
What would you like to know first? It is nice to meet someone who has an academic interest in this field.

medic81

it very interesting as when i competed in judo one of the first terms we learned was, recovery was paramount after training, the liver stores naturally equivalent to 70g of glycogen, this is our liver/bodys reserve store.

what happens is when an individual eats so many grams of carbohydrates for there bodyweight, this tops up the stores, however if we take in too much a bit like a fuel tanks, what happens it spills over, has nowhere to be transported/ or i should say be ustilised, therefore bodys first reaction is store as fatty tissue adipose fats distributed across the human body.