Hypo or not hypo

barb1

I had been having hypos nearly daily for a couple of weeks. I have adjusted my carbs and it's improved but generally at the lower end of the 4's. Twice I went down to 2.6 and 2.7 and was aware of the hypo and took appropriate action e.g. Glucose tabs. However I had what was exactly the same symptoms at 4.4, which I thought was supposed to be normal. Also I've been at 3.7 and felt completely normal. I don't take medication as I've had gastric bypass which had sorted out the diabetes until a couple of weeks ago when I was diagnosed with reactive hypoglycaemia.
Can anyone tell me if you can get hypos in the 4 range?

Sent from my SM-G920F using Diabetes.co.uk Forum mobile app

samowen268

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
I'm no expert as I'm just controlling my diabetes efficiently, but when I get in the lower 4's I feel just as bad as if I'm in the 2's, and despite what people say I treat it because I can't carry on with my day knowing they'll just keep dropping unless I snack/treat it. Sorry it's not much help, but I wouldn't worry about feeling hypo when your bloods are 4, completely normal with me :)

azure

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
If you're in the 4s you're not technically hypo @barb1

However, as a Type 1 on insulin, I find I can feel like I'm hypo at higher numbers if my blood sugar is dropping fast (because there's a slight delay between your 'real' BS and what shows on the meter.

Also, if you've been used to higher BS, a normal BS can feel hypo even though it's not.

As you've had a gastric bypass and have been diagnosed with RH, I think it's worth mentioning to your doctor.

Lamont D

Oracle
Type of diabetes
Reactive hypoglycemia
Treatment type
I do not have diabetes