Joint and muscle pain

eddie1968

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Pasta, sorry to me it's vile, yeuch lol (and full of nasty carbs)
Hi. For the last month my right hand, arm and shoulder have become very painful and are getting stiffer too.

I'm currently taking Codeine Phosphate 30mg and Ibuprofen 200mg several times daily and also using a TENS machine a lot to ease the pain along with a hot water bottle.

Could this be the start of diabetes complications?

The pain is so constant and is interfering with my sleep and daily activities too.

I am beginning to feel depressed too, understandable with constant pain but antidepressants are not in my solutions, just becoming pain free would solve this.

Anyone got a similar story or situation? Anyone got any solutions.

I think I must see my GP asap.

Thanks for any replies.

Edward

Tim55

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Dislikes
Rap and hip - hop
Hi Eddie

I am no doctor but I know what its like to be in pain and its no fun.

I have peripheral neuropathy and a bad knee.

I was initially diagnosed with Type 2 when I went to my GP with the neuropathy symptoms but it has never been linked by him to my knee problems.

Basically, it is stiff, weak and painful. X-ray showed mild arthritis, but "nothing to account for the levels of problems you are experiencing"

However, after reading through the thread on help with dealing with neuropathy I decided to try Alpha Lipoic acid, Benfotiamine and Methyl Cobolamine to see if that helped my neuropathy pain.

What I noticed first though was the pain in my knee started to decrease, although it is still far from "right" and gets worse in the cold, camp weather...

So I suspect your GP is unlikely to attribute your joint pains to diabetes, but I also think the medical profession tend to stop looking for underlying issues once they can tell you that you suffer from diabetes.