low carb weight loss stopped

sweaty betty

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Hello there - hoping someone might be able to point me in the right direction!

I've been doing a low carb diet for 7 months now, but haven't lost any weight since Christmas. I've plateaued before, but only for upto 6 weeks, and I'm getting a bit frustrated now.

I mainly eat meat, cheese, green veg, cream, the occasional portion of peanut butter, eggs, etc so very little carbs that could be causing problems. Do you think I could be eating too much fat? Is there anything I could limit or start eating more of to kick-start my weight loss again?

The plus side is that my BG is great - so much so that I only really need to inject at night now, rather than at mealtimes - so I'm very happy about that. But I do need to lose another 3 stone or so to get down to a normal BMI and it's just not happening at the moment!

Can anyone give me some advice on this?

chocoholicnomore

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Can't advise as I have much same problem so would also be interested in replies from others.

I have put on and then lost the same 2lbs every alternate week since Christmas :(

sweetLea

What portion sizes are you having and are you drinking enough water? I always found that cheese stalled me and I had to drop dairy completely while I lost weight.
Are you using coconut oil? It boosts your energy and your metabolism so it helps a lot.
Hope this helps. :)

sweaty betty

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Thanks! I've not tried coconut oil - do you use it for cooking instead of olive oil? It sounds promising :)

My portion sizes are OK, I think. I've noticed I'm needing less to feel full than I did when eating carbs. I'm a bit afraid that it might be a dairy issue - perhaps I'll have a week off dairy and see how I go...

jahusba

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
having to cut carbs