Monitoring Glucose

Deano1985

Hello all, this is my first post as a community member.

14 years ago now when i was 12 years old i was diagnosed with having type 1 diabetes. At first my blood monitoring was good, i was doing it a couple of times a day, eating healthy and everything, but then i just give up and became pretty depressed with the whole situation.

The only way my blood is monitored now is under my local GP annually as i missed an appointment with the hospital (Which they hadn't notified me by post or any other means about), so to re-enroll again is just too much hassle, because i am pretty busy.

I am an electrician, so trying to monitor my blood glucose levels in the day is quite hard because pricking my finger is leaving an open wound which will be exposed on site and everywhere is healt and safety mad now. And of an evening i am usually too tired to worry about blood sugars to want to set up the meter e.t.c otherwise i'm busy doing paperwork for all the work done during the day (In the office) at night. I know one remedy would be to carry around a meter, but that would be a pain, on top of my tools, test instruments for work and paperwork. But above all of that it is most likely laziness.

I know the easiest thing for you guys to say is "Your company needs to provide assistance for you to carry all this out", but i'm self employed and in the real world, that just don't happen.

Another thing i'm worried about is getting a high reading, then over injecting novorapid to compensate, then going hypo, it really is a fine balance to keep in that 4-7 target range.

I remember reading several years ago they were going to release a blood meter that you wore on your wrist without lancing, does anyone know if anything exists like this that would make my life so much easier and make me much more healthier by giving me this motivation to monitor my blood levels more efficiently?

Thanks for taking 5 minutes out of your time to read my dribble.

ebony321

Dislikes