flashh0

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Hi all,

I have been lurking on here for a while but have finally decided to join.

I have type 2 diabetes and until today was taking 2 X 500mg metformin twice a day. Am feeling quite low today as been for my annual review and found out my Hba1c test came back as 89 or 10.2%, although I am not really shocked by this as I thought it had been creeping up recently.

Even more worrying is I have tried out my new glucose monitor and it said 13.2 even though I have had nothing since I ate last night(over14hrs ago) :shock:

I have now been put on the extended release metformin (as I do forget to take sometimes and have some side effects) also they wanted me to start taking gliclazide but have agreed to delay starting to take this to see if I can improve my diet and control taking pills better.

The main reason for this is I am a LGV driver so do not want to start down the route of taking meds that can lead to hypos not least at the present time.

I do have one question at the moment though, Is it possible to still get the 'shakes ' and feel like you have low blood sugar even when your count is high like mine is? I quite often feel this way but when I check my bg it is actually high.

I have recently start a healthy eating diet by cutting out any processed oils and having more epa oils and eating home made vegtable soups so my in take of carbs should drop.

On a good note my doctor agreed I no longer need a statin as my count is only 2 (even before taking statin it was 4.5)

Regards
Andy

Grazer