Newly Diagnosed T2, vegan,Diet Questions...

adaylate

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Hi everyone. I've suspected for a couple years that I had diabetes, or was at least pre-diabetic. I avoided the Dr because I didn't want the bad news (horrible I know, especially given the fact that I'm a registered nurse). Well finally I forced myself to get checked out, and turns out my a1c was 8.9. I immediately changed my diet and have lost 34 lbs. I have been completely vegan for 2 months.

I am now on day two of Metformin, 500mg twice a day. My Dr just told me that he wants me to eat 1200 calories a day and keep my carbs to 200g or less. Prior to this advice, my vegan diet was pretty much just unlimited fruits and vegetables for 2 months, and that's how I lost weight. I never felt deprived. I never counted calories or carbs. It's only been a couple days but I really feel discouraged with these new diet restrictions. It just seems like the classic "diet" type of thing I've tried 10 times before, failed, and gained all the weight back (plus some).

So I guess I'm just wondering, should I try and do the 1200 low carb vegan? Even though I feel like it's a recipe for personal failure? Or go with what's worked for me the past two months? I just feel like in my heart that it can't be bad to eat unlimited fresh fruits and vegetables. Does anyone have any advice? Any type 2 vegans out there?

kimbo1962

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Hello and welcome adaylate! I hope someone will vegan experience comes along soon to advise! I know I've always been by nature inclined to go with my heart.....certainly if I had followed nhs standard advice when diagnosed in June regarding carbs I wouldn't have got to where in an now, they didn't seem to think much of low carb - but now they love my levels and weight loss!!

adaylate

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)