Pros and Cons of Shifting from Injection to Insulin Pump

SHmano

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
I am a Type 1 diabetic on Insulin for around 45 years now. On Actrapid and Insulatard thrice a day. Actrapid thrice a day and Insulatard twice a day. Now for past six months though my HBA1C is 5.7 fructosamine assay is very high 288. Urine protein and urine creatinine levels are very high. I have become very sensitive to insulin. Any changes in actrapid puts me to hypoglycemia. My life style has been ups and downs with Injection. Doctors advice for Insulin pump. Any users in the forum can let me know the pros and cons of using Insulin pump. Have you faced a similar situation and your life style has improved? Any suggestion on what questions I should ask the doctor?

Reactions: Olufisayo

Juicyj

Expert
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Hypos, rude people, ignorance and grey days.
Hi @SHmano I have no experience of Actrapid or Insulatard so can't comment on sensitivity of these vs using novarapid. The pump I use - Medtronic 640g is set up using Novorapid which acts as both basal and bolus, hence the need to pump 24 hours, using a pump means you can really tweak your doses over a 24 hour period and adjust ratios based on timed settings to replicate the action of the pancreas, it involves alot of input to finely tune settings and then of course these will change over time, so from season to season, weight changes so an eye on levels to manage adjustments is required over time. You can use smaller units of insulin so whereas a pen will either use a 5/10 unit function the pump will operate on single units for bolus calculations so using less insulin.