Pumps and CGM - accuracy

sallymac65

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Feeling high, people not understanding the difference between type 1 + 2, those people who dont listen!
Hi, Ive been using a pump for about 6 years or so, so Im comfortable with that technology. However Ive recently lost my hypo warning signs which is pretty scary quite honestly, particularly when driving. So Ive borrowed a sensor from my DSN which has been an interesting experience and havent slept well since. But my main query is how accurate are the results from the CGM - often it was saying I was below four but I felt absolutely fine. Has anyone else had experience of using a CGM but they werent sure of the results coming back to them? Id be very keen to know. Whilst the sensor was a good test, Im not sure at this stage if Id want to wear one all the time. Thanks. Sally

sallymac65

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Feeling high, people not understanding the difference between type 1 + 2, those people who dont listen!
Just seen Ive posted this in the wrong forum, didnt know there was one for blood sugar levels as well, so apols until I can delete it!

Engineer88

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
No worries - yes Ive had this on the Dexcom. I tend to go between the monitor and the CGM so if Monitor said 7 and CGM 8 i would assume 7.5 (rough calc) what CGM are you using?

sallymac65

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Hi, Ive been using the Freestyle Navigator one. I just find it weird though when I look at it, it warns me that I'll be going low in 15 mins, yet my level from a finger prick is above this. Confusing or what! Is Dexcom your pump then, or just your cgm? Sorry for ignorance, Im on a medtronic pump but not the new fancy one yet ....

searley

Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Diabetes, not having Jaffa Cake