Regaining weight and muscle mass

wanden

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Hi Im new to this.

I was diagnosed with T2 at the end of last year and have been taking Metformin sine December. This seems to have got my blood sugar levels consistently in the 6 to 7 range.

As a result of my T2 I have lost a fair amount of weight and noticeably in muscles. Despite regular eating and swimming the muscles don't seem to get any bigger and the weight is still lower than I would like, and I constantly get comments - "you've changed and lost weight" which gets old quickly.

Can anyone share similar a similar experience and how to fix these issues.

Thanks.

GrantGam

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi Im new to this.

I was diagnosed with T2 at the end of last year and have been taking Metformin sine December. This seems to have got my blood sugar levels consistently in the 6 to 7 range.

As a result of my T2 I have lost a fair amount of weight and noticeably in muscles. Despite regular eating and swimming the muscles don't seem to get any bigger and the weight is still lower than I would like, and I constantly get comments - "you've changed and lost weight" which gets old quickly.

Can anyone share similar a similar experience and how to fix these issues.

Thanks.
Although I'm not T2, I also lost a significant amount of muscle mass and fat pre-diagnosis as a direct result of chronically high BG. Do you think that was the case with yourself also?

Maintaining steady BG in the recommended target ranges allowed my body to put back on what it had lost. And this seemed to happen relatively quickly.

Have your eating habits changed, could you give some info into what your current diet is like? With regards to the weight loss, is the loss of fat a positive and is it just muscle mass you're looking to regain?

wanden

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Thanks for getting back to me Grant.

When I had a blood test in June last year my HbA1c reading was 9.8%.