Type 1 and working

L-Jay

Type of diabetes
Type 1
I need help, I've been working with having type 1 for a few months now, but was diagnosed with diabetes last year. I have been getting hypos and falling ill a lot at work and with it being in retail, my boss is seeing me unreliable and decided to drop my hours.
My question is, do I look for another job as well as keeping this one, or do I see if I can get either PIP or ESA benefits.

catapillar

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
How are you managing your diabetes? Managed diabetes should be no bar to working and your employer should make adjustments to accommodate your management steps.

So my first thought would be to look at what is causing you to get hypos a lot at work and then adjust your management with a view to reducing that.

noblehead

Guru
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Disrespectful people
My question is, do I look for another job as well as keeping this one

Even if you look for another job will things be any different @L-Jay , what you need to do is try and address why your having hypo's at work which are effecting your ability to work, hypo's can't be afforded but they can be controlled somewhat and type 1 shouldn't really effect your ability to work.

Maybe keep a detailed bg diary and discuss your results with your DSN who will advise you on adjusting your insulin doses so that you don't hypo as often.

L-Jay

Type of diabetes
Type 1
You won't be entitled to any benefits just for being type 1.

I think your boss may have broken the law by just dropping your hours. Do you have a contracted amount of hours?

Which I do unfortunately, it may be a 4 hour contract however I've been working at 20 - 25 hours and since my hypos started occurring they slashed it to below 12. Yet my boss still doesn't understand my needs as a diabetic in the case of regular injections when it comes to eating.

novorapidboi26

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump