Type 1 diabetes and alcohol

Laura-kay

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi, I'm new to all this so be patient with me. I was diagnosed with type 1 in April this year. My blood sugars are still all over the place and it's not controlled completely yet.... Does anybody know what is the best alcohol to drink and any tips of how to mange it properly?

Reactions: 2 people

noblehead

Guru
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Disrespectful people
As you say your diabetes isn't under control yet I would be very cautious about drinking alcohol, however if your adamant that you do want to have a few drinks then have a word with your DSN, they will advise you on taking sensible measures to prevent any problems.

AndyS

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
+1 for noblehead.

If your BG is all over the place still then be cautious. The thing to be aware of with alcohol is that, depending on what you drink, your sugars may go up but then a few hours later they will start to drop and you could go hypo.
The reason for the later drop is that your liver is too busy dealing with the alcohol so doesn't release sugar. I have found that sometimes if I have had a few drinks I can see a drop as much as 12 hours after I stopped drinking.

That being said I have found that a glass of a dry wine doesn't seem to have much impact on my sugars, others find differently so you kind of need to keep testing so you can understand how your own body responds.
In terms of tips, well if I am going to have something which has a carb content, like beer, then I usually end up rolling that in with a meal and dose for those carbs (sometimes with a slight reduction to allow for the drop) but if I am not eating then I go for something that has little or no carbohydrate content. SO wine or spirit with a sugar-free mixer.