Work and Diabetes

Dee2

Type of diabetes
LADA
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Wasps..seafood..stray dogs
Hi..I'm just wondering if anyone can help?

I work full-time in a restaurant for a high street department store..which will remain unnamed.. I have been under the care of the Mental Health Team after being diagnosed in Dec 2010 with recurrent depressive disorder..happily I am now in remission and returned to my job 3 months after being diagnosed

I was diagnosed in March of 2011..with type 2 diabetes and my blood sugars have been extremely high on occasions (20 - 29) over the last six months and I have had the misfortune to have 1 or 2 hyperglycaemic episodes at work.. where I was operating machinery (hot ovens and fryers) my blood glucose was 27 on this occasion..I asked to go home but I was point blank refused because there was no one to cover me!

My blood sugars are still high and I am working on them daily.. cutting out white bread.. pasta.. rice and potatoes..this has helped my sugars a lot and my base level (morning reading) is now down to 13 although Wednesday I had a fasting blood test and it came back at 14.8..the doctor today increased my evening gliclizide by 80mg so hopefully it will come down further

I have been under a lot of pressure at work over the last month ..covering staff holidays and having my work load doubled on occasions..this has caused me a lot of stress which I relayed to my Mental Health Team who wrote a letter to my company's HR department asking for a referral to the Occupational Health Department..I was in agreement to this and it was the 2nd attempt to and I quote "to ensure her health needs are being taken into consideration in the workplace"