worried about going blind!

themarkness

hi
my name is mark, and i have been type 2 for a year,ok so i have some background retinopathy, and have been referred to the eye clinic for closer monitoring, iam very worried about going blind, even though a lot of people have said it is very rare,including my GP,but when asking questions about the possible treatment,the nurse she said it only sometimes works, and it doesnt work on the elderly,so i took that as that everyone with diebtes will go blind eventually,this has made me very scared, and cant stop thinking about it,and due to have some counselling as a result...... :(

Unbeliever

I think your nurse probably meant that laser treatment does not always work first time. Don't know what she means about ot working on the elderly. Perhaps she should keep her opinions to herself .

If everyone with diabetes went blind eventually there would be far more blind persons around I can assure you.

First let me say that background retinopathy is very common . Almost all diabetics have it . Very few neeed treatment.

Close monitorin is not treatment but will ensure you get prompt reatment should you need it.

It is very scary at first but you must remenber that they would not bother to screen if there was no effective treatment.

I have had five years of treatment. My problems were brought on by rosiglitazone and then compounded by over-intensive laser treatment. Neither of these things are likely to happen ow as treatments have improved beyond all recognition in the past few years.

The usual treatment is laser treatment - which is not painful - just a bit strange! Sometimes it is necessary to have injections which agai are ot painful eacause the site is well anaesthesised. I have found the eye clinic people to be wonderful helpful and very knowledh=geable.