HBA1C

sami

thats what all my paper work says but im new to it to so not sure someone else will come along soon and let us no:)

sami
just found out
HbA1c 7.7

sugarless sue

Master
Dislikes
Rude people! Not being able to do the things I want to do.
Anything under 7% is good!Have a look in "links for diabetes "in the diabetes discussion section.There's a good explanation on Hba1c there.

Knowledge is the key to control

sugar

Hi. Yes, your hba1c should be as low as possible, and anything under 7.5 is considered OK. If you are new...don't panic too much if it is higher. It is looking at your blood sugar over the last 6 weeks or so...so if you weren't treating you diabetes then, it may be a little higher.
All I can advise is take on board what they advise when hey give you your result...and remembr it is is something to work on for the future.

Best of luck!

fergusc

Type of diabetes
Prediabetes
Hi there,

I'm new here, so forgive me while I learn the ropes.
I've been T1 for 27 years though and one thing I do know is that non-diabetics HbA1C levels are invariably in the 4.3-4.6 range. Risk of long term complications increases the further we stray from that. 7% is OK if you're just starting out, but I believe you should aim much lower, long term.
Don't accept that it's impossible, because it isn't. It's taken me a while to figure it all out, but I was 4.6% last time out, with no hypos.

All the best,

fergusc

sugarless sue

Master
Dislikes
Rude people! Not being able to do the things I want to do.
That's a great result ,Fegus.Wish mine was that low!

Knowledge is the key to control

JOJO

Hi,

Just got the result of my HbA1C and it was 10.6 [:0]:(
Nurse does not know why as I am not eating very much, thinks it may be stress. Last one I had a year ago was 7.7
Have been on Levemir but for the last few weeks I have been getting reactions I think? Hard red lumps at the injection site and bruising, these last for about a week :( anyone else had this?