Flying with pump

sjm1308

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
I'm going to spain for a few days and it's my first time flying with the pump. My dsn isn't a great help. Once I managed to get a phone call with her I was only advised to take it off at security and not not put it through the scanner. She also said I wouldn't need a letter as they are well used to pumps now but I'm going to ask my gp for one anyway.

I remember at pump training we were told to disconnect at take off and landing but my dsn said this isn't necessary.

I'm very anxious as it is and tbh I don't feel fully satisfied with her information.

I'm going to approach security and explain the pump cant go through the machines. I will have my letter from gp.

I will suspend and disconnect at take off and landing.

I will take extra set changes, my back up insulin pens and info re insurance etc. I have a frio pouch and their is a fridge at the room.

Is there anything else I need to know?

porl69

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Stupid people
Hi @sjm1308.....Your Dr will charge you for a letter. Your DSN should write you a letter any way and not charge you! Give them another call and ask again for a letter.
No need to disconnect on take off or landing. Keep and eye on your BGs during the flight and also keep an eye out for air bubbles in your lines!
When you get to the airport go to the information desk and ask for a "hidden disabilities lanyard". You will fly through customs, no queuing at all, and have priority boarding on the plane. I only found that out last year.
Forgot to say, customs are fully aware of the insulin pump and you will have a "wand" search

ALSO....have an amazing time

Reactions: sjm1308 and Muneeb

Muneeb

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi @sjm1308.....Your Dr will charge you for a letter. Your DSN should write you a letter any way and not charge you! Give them another call and ask again for a letter.