BD Micro-Fine + needles versus GlucoRX fine points

MickyFinn

Type of diabetes
Type 1
I,m sure this has been raised many times before, however, I'm relatively new to T1 diabetes, it was pointed out to me that many people on these forums have reported that they are having trouble with bruising and pain when using the GlucoRX needles, which are the type I have been prescribed by my GP surgery.

When I was diagnosed as T1 in November last year, I was sent home from the hospital with everything I needed till the prescription had been put in place. That included BD MicroFine + needles for the injections. I had issues with getting used to injecting at first, but did get over that quickly because I was experiencing no pain injecting, or bruising and soreness. I was switched to the GlucoRX needles and ever since, all I have had is pain while injecting, bleeds, bruises, soreness etc, even though I rotate carefully.

Having it pointed out to me that many others experience similar, highlighted it, along with running out of needles and my pharmacy giving some of the BD needles until my prescription comes through. I tried one of the D needles, and it fitted the insulin pen far better, it was easy to inject and I felt no pain injecting.

How many of you have noticed similar? It does seem to me that it's purely down to cost, as the BD needles are more expensive.

tim2000s

Expert
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Other
If it is causing you pain and discomfort, I'd suggest that you go back to your GP and get them changed. If anyone puts up a fuss, offer to assist them in a small discovery session where you stick multiple GlucoRX needles into them, then multiple BD Microfine+ ones and see how many suddenly change their mind...

Reactions: 2 people

MickyFinn

Type of diabetes
Type 1