Covid and type 1

Catherinegf

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
I am in the latter stages of my first bout of Covid. I only developed type 1 5 years ago so I’m still learning. I’m finding insulin is currently about as affective as water. I’m taking more than 3 times my usual amount. Is this normal? I threw away the last lot of insulin assuming it had stopped working. I’m not eating anything different. I usually have really good insulin sensitivity. I had to take 4 units for half a slice of wholemeal bread. I’d normally take 1 unit. Last night I took 9 units for a dinner that would normally need 4. Went to bed and woke up having been at 14 all night. 3 units and 2 hours later and I’ve only dropped to 8. I’ve had mild bugs before and had very little impact on blood sugar. Should I be doing something else? Im scared to eat!
I should also say that for 3 days I barely ate because I was too ill. My glucose stayed steady at around 7. I didn’t try and bring it lower as didn’t want a hypo as well as being sick. So I wasn’t really taking a lot of insulin then. Now I’m back to eating it’s just got silly. I had to take 12 units for half a small bowl of lentil dhal and half a small potato. Normally this would be 2 or 3 units max.

Last edited:

SimonP78

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Seems pretty normal to me, I try to eat fewer carbs while recovering (generally, and from COVID twice) to avoid going too high, and also accept that I may well run high but it won't be for very long so I'm not too bothered. As you mention, what I don't want to do is stack loads of bolus and then potentially go low when I'm asleep or if actually feeling unwell and not wanting to eat.

Westley

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Yes, unfortunately that sounds about right. COVID and diabetes seem to interact in a nasty way, and my doses went way up too.

Obviously you want to avoid hypos, but I feel hypers also made the COVID symptoms worse and slowed recovery.