1. Get the Diabetes Forum App for your phone - available on iOS and Android.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Guest, we'd love to know what you think about the forum! Take the Diabetes Forum Survey 2021 »
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Diabetes Forum should not be used in an emergency and does not replace your healthcare professional relationship. Posts can be seen by the public.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Guest, stay home, stay safe, save the NHS. Stay up to date with information about keeping yourself and people around you safe here and GOV.UK: Coronavirus (COVID-19). Think you have symptoms? NHS 111 service is available here.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Find support, ask questions and share your experiences. Join the community »

Libre 2 which phone

Discussion in 'Blood Glucose Monitoring' started by Richard F, Mar 26, 2021.

  1. Richard F

    Richard F Type 1 · Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    86
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Hi I'll soon be starting on libre 2 and wish to upgrade my phone. The list on the libre site are all obsolete models.

    Will any old smart phone work? The Samsung A12 for instance?
     
  2. In Response

    In Response Type 1 · Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,037
    Likes Received:
    550
    Trophy Points:
    173
    For starters you need
    - to be able to install the LinkLink app
    - to have NFC for scanning the sensor
    - to have bluetooth to receive the alerts

    There may be some more details but these points are easy to check.

    I have run mine on an Honor 10 and a Pixel 5 with no trouble but not tried a Samsung
     
  3. Mr_Pot

    Mr_Pot Type 2 · Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,484
    Likes Received:
    2,040
    Trophy Points:
    178
    It will need NFC. A quick look on Google says that A12 does not support NFC so that wouldn't work.
     
  4. bobandpat

    bobandpat Type 1 · Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Hi there. I use a Samsung J3 (2018 version) without any problems, if that's any help!
     
  5. Richard F

    Richard F Type 1 · Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    86
    Trophy Points:
    68
    I've just been on the Samsung website for the A12 it shows NFC & Bluetooth v5

    Does this mean its good to go?
     
  6. Fruitella

    Fruitella Type 2 · Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    191
    Trophy Points:
    83
    I have bluetooth and NFC but unable to get libre link on my phone - although I could download libre linkup - that is of no use to me.
     
  7. Richard F

    Richard F Type 1 · Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    86
    Trophy Points:
    68
    So can I tell if I can download libre link?
     
  8. Mr_Pot

    Mr_Pot Type 2 · Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,484
    Likes Received:
    2,040
    Trophy Points:
    178
    When I said it didn't have NFC in an earlier post, it seems the Google hit that told me that was wrong. As a new phone it should have an up to date Android version so it sounds like a good bet.
     
  9. Mr_Pot

    Mr_Pot Type 2 · Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,484
    Likes Received:
    2,040
    Trophy Points:
    178
    What happened when you tried to download LibreLink?
     
  10. Fruitella

    Fruitella Type 2 · Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    191
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Just said not compatible. Frustrating but will borrow one from a grandchild! I have a new camera that uses NFC so at least it works with that - all clever stuff.
     
  11. UK T1

    UK T1 Type 1 · Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    170
    Trophy Points:
    103
    These are the main points. You should also check the android versions as it might be that really old android versions don't support the new libre link app updates.

    I was told some NFC signals on new phones are too powerful and could damage the sensor which is why you might not be able to download the app.

    There have been lots of threads on here but also on Google and some in the comments of the play store listing, where people say what phone they have and whether it works on that. So it might be worth searching for. Mine worked on Samsung S5 and S10.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. MrsA2

    MrsA2 Type 2 · Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,358
    Likes Received:
    3,057
    Trophy Points:
    198
    I have a Samsung A50 which wasn't listed but it all worked all right
     
  13. Riva_Roxaban

    Riva_Roxaban Type 2 · Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    2,408
    Trophy Points:
    158
  14. Richard F

    Richard F Type 1 · Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    86
    Trophy Points:
    68
    The more I look the more of a nightmare a new phone is becoming.
    It seems as soon as a phone is tried, tested and declared compatible its discontinued.

    Looks like I'll be relying on the reader for a while yet.

    ETA I've just realised that the A51 mentioned in the post above is still current, thanks for the heads up.
     
    #14 Richard F, Mar 27, 2021 at 7:57 AM
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2021
  15. peat5961

    peat5961 · Active Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I used to use a Samsung J3 which was great with my Libre 1

    But could not upgrade it to the new version of Libreview that you needed to use for the Libre 2 that I was changed to so you could use its alarm settings with the phone so got a

    Samsung Galaxy A21s which works fine with my Libre 2

    Phone charge lasts about 96 hours (4 Days) on average
     
  16. rover44

    rover44 Type 2 · Newbie

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    23
    Started week 3 of libre, first 14 days with l Libre 1 starter pack posted to me by DSN,
    Prescription for libre 2 sensors, my J3pro 2017 wasn't compatible with loved link app, I've upgraded to a Samsung A21s this works well but you need to be sure to hold it directly over the sensor and don't move untill after the second tone, or you get a sensor error message.
     
  17. UK T1

    UK T1 Type 1 · Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    170
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Yes good point, I've always been able to scan with my phone through clothes (including thick down winter jacket) but just have to deliberately hold the phone over the sensor. With the reader they always talk about just 'swiping' and my DSN was adamant phones couldn't scan through clothes until I showed her!
     
  18. Ushthetaff

    Ushthetaff Type 1 · Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    348
    Trophy Points:
    123
    I use an iPhone XR just downloaded the app and off I went ! It scans through clothes no probs . Hi
     
  19. kvetiny

    kvetiny Type 1 · Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    68
    I have a redmi note which works fine
     
  • Meet the Community

    Find support, connect with others, ask questions and share your experiences with people with diabetes, their carers and family.

    Did you know: 7 out of 10 people improve their understanding of diabetes within 6 months of being a Diabetes Forum member. Get the Diabetes Forum App and stay connected on iOS and Android

    Grab the app!
  • Tweet with us

  • Like us on Facebook