Running is so hard and sugar levels are so high!

kimkerr1986

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi,

I am new to the Forum and have had a brief look through the previous threads but not sure they relate directly to the problem I am having!

I have been running since April 2015 - I started with a Couch to 5k App so built up slowly and easily.

I am a Type 1 Diabetic and have been since I was 6 years old. I am now 29.

I aim to run about 20k a week - this will normally be 5k, 7.5k, 8k or sometimes 10k depending on how I am feeling.

About 1k into each run I am so out of breath and am heavy breathing. I am used to doing long distances and I run with my husband and friend who neither have such a problem with breathing or getting out of breath. The pace is about 6.5 minute per 1k so this is not strenuous for me. My husband thinks it may be something to do with oxygen and blood not being able to pump properly because of diabetes but I am not too sure. I find this really frustrating as I then have to slow right down to catch my breath which is pretty much a walking pace. It doesn't feel like I am going too fast which would be the obvious answer I know! Some days it is fine but other days it is awful and I want to give up after 1k!

I also saw Jeanettes post about high sugar levels. I always test before I run and make sure I am below 10.0 and above 4.5. However, I get back from the run and my levels are so high! They increase to about 15.6 or more.

Another point to note is that I am 3 months pregnant and need to make sure my levels are perfect for the next 6 months so the exercise and sugar levels are hugely important at this point.

I would really appreciate any help, assistance or guidance that anyone can offer me!

Thank you

Kim

tim2000s

Expert
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Other
Has it always been this way or only since you became pregnant?