Student Design Project for a Portable Insulin Cooler

don_steel

Hi everyone,

My name is Donald and I am studying Product Design Engineering at Strathclyde University. I have just started 4th year and we have to carry out an individual project based on a problem we have observed that we would like to try and solve.

My project idea was inspired by a friend who is studying Geography and was due to travel to Africa for 5 weeks over the summer as part of the research for her course. While preparing for her trip there were real concerns over whether she would actually make it because she struggled to find a suitable storage method for the insulin she wasn't currently using. She was eventually able to go after buying the Frio wallets however even these didn't quite fit her needs.

My idea is to design and develop a portable fridge type product that could use a rechargeable battery to store medication vials for people travelling or perhaps competing in sports competitions in countries with extreme climate conditions. The main focus of the product would be maintaining the integrity of the medication by keeping it cool and offering physical protection for the vials to offer the user peace of mind and allow them to enjoy their trip.

I am currently at the research stage and am just looking for some feedback from potential users to help justify the project by determining if insulin storage while travelling is a real concern. Whether they think this would be a good product and what sort of features they would look for in it ( e.g. storage capacity, extra compartments for paraphernalia, needle disposal etc).