Type 2 Diabetes ... Mum getting lows although on Metformin

jen34

Hi All,
I am new to all this and a concerned daughter. My mum has recently been diagnosed with type 2 diabetes and put straight onto Metformin tabs, at 1st these where 2 times daily.
Now she has been put on 3 times daily, so 2 tabs in the morning and 1 tab at night.
My concern at the moment is that although she is controlling her diet, I have to add through very little information given to her from her 'Diabetic nurse' she has basically been going in blind.
After her breakfast (for instance she had 2 slices of toast and scrambled egg) then took her 2 tabs 10am, by lunch time she tested her bloods and they where 5.1 ?? she took herself to the shop and got a bar of chocolate to pick herself back up.
I am not sure 100% of all the facts and am trying to learn for her so I can talk her through step by step.

I am making her contact the diabetic nurse so we can both go together and I will make sure they help her out with more information on diet control. As mum was practically starving herself when she got diagnosed because she was very scared. (Understandably).

Would anyone know of any reason why there would be a what I would class as a dramatic drop in sugar levels? too much Metformin? Not enough sugar in diet?
So confused.

Jen

St0ker

Re: Type 2 Diabetes ... Mum getting lows although on Metform

Everyone is different, but I was advised by my diabetic consultant to try and keep my pre-meal (fasting) sugar levels between 4 and 6. I would regard 5.1 before a meal as a good reading to have, and certainly wouldn't be rushing out to eat chocolate, just stick with a proper meal.