Which meter should I buy?

Libbaloo

As I am new to this, can anyone give advice on what sort of meter to buy... any better than others? I have just tried out an accu check which arrived in the post from Amazon this morning while I was making breakfast. I see that the pot only contains 10 strips. This could become very expensive! I have already used 5 as I was getting used to the gadget!

I only managed to prick a little bit of blood but the yellow strip sucked it up and I got a post breakfast reading of 5.9. (I have had scrambled egg and bacon, some raspberries and crème fraiche and a few nibbles from my nut/ seed jar. I know its only about 10 minutes following breakfast but I couldn't wait two hours and didn't do a pre food test. I guess I could get through quite a few test strips at this rate and will need to budget.

Any tips? When should I have another go?

Is there a brand of meter with cheaper strips?

KarenAdamson

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
As I am new to this, can anyone give advice on what sort of meter to buy... any better than others? I have just tried out an accu check which arrived in the post from Amazon this morning while I was making breakfast. I see that the pot only contains 10 strips. This could become very expensive! I have already used 5 as I was getting used to the gadget!

I only managed to prick a little bit of blood but the yellow strip sucked it up and I got a post breakfast reading of 5.9. (I have had scrambled egg and bacon, some raspberries and crème fraiche and a few nibbles from my nut/ seed jar. I know its only about 10 minutes following breakfast but I couldn't wait two hours and didn't do a pre food test. I guess I could get through quite a few test strips at this rate and will need to budget.

Any tips? When should I have another go?

Is there a brand of meter with cheaper strips?