22 years old and HbA1c = 98

KS260400

Type of diabetes
Other
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Hi there,

I'm completely new to all of this and I've been having some problems. I was called into my gp center on Friday following a blood test I had done on Thursday my HbA1c results came put as 98 and I was sent to hospital ASAP.

The doctors are investigating whether I have type 1 or 2 diabetes however type 2 is in the family and I have never taken care with my sugar in take until now. I have been given metformin 500mg and gliclizade 40mg but I'm finding it really hard to swollow the metformin and I've been getting diarrhoea with it too (the doctors told me thats normal).

At hospital my blood was reading 17.7, 20.0 etc but now with the medication my readings are coming down my most recent reading was 9.8 so its getting better...

If you have any tips about swallowing the tablet or you have heard of this sort of case before then please let me know.

Thanks so much!

• Hug
Reactions: Lainie71

AloeSvea

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Other
You poor thing @KS260400. first of all - a big hug to you, and well done you for coming into the Forum.

If it's type two - you have your youth on your side, as high, and serious, as your blood glucose level is. Your chances of turning your health around for the better are really good. If it's type one - your diabetes is really treatable, and with those new continuous blood glucose meters now - much easier to keep on top of it? (Plenty of type ones will come in and reassure I am sure.)