Can't prick my own finger

Fallgal

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
I just can't. I don't know why. I certainly have had my share of pain over the years. I couldn't even let my husband do it. I followed all the hints for a less-painful test, but still couldn't press that button. I got myself all worked up and nervous, wasted a test strip and have no reading. :(

I am NOT good with pain, at all. Any other tips to make this easier? Do you ever really get used to it?

Thanks. Feeling like a major loser at the moment.

Reactions: 2 people

douglas99

Type of diabetes
I reversed my Type 2
Treatment type
Other
I just can't. I don't know why. I certainly have had my share of pain over the years. I couldn't even let my husband do it. I followed all the hints for a less-painful test, but still couldn't press that button. I got myself all worked up and nervous, wasted a test strip and have no reading. :(

I am NOT good with pain, at all. Any other tips to make this easier? Do you ever really get used to it?

Set it on about 3/4.
Don't look, watch telly, let your husband do it.

Reactions: 2 people

Daibell

Master
Type of diabetes
LADA
Treatment type
Insulin
It does depend a bit on the brand of lancet. There has been previous discussion on this on the forums. I use One Touch and they are not the best. I'm about to move over to MyPura ones as my surgery now uses that meter and I'm told they are finer and less painful?

Reactions: 3 people

mo1905

BANNED
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Rude people !
Hi Fallgal, it's actually the thought of doing it that's worse. It's really not too bad. I liken it to queuing up for a fun fair ride. Hate the queue but the ride is usually ok ! I won't lie and say it's completely pain free but it is something you get used to ! Maybe have a little glass of wine first ? Good luck !

Sent from the Diabetes Forum App

dawnmc

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type