Diabetes & Exercise

Harbottle

Having at the age off 55 got a place in the Great North Run (Running for Diabetes UK) half marathon this year, I started training back in February for it.

I test before and after each exercise session.

My BG before exercise has been high ie above 7 but down to 5.8 or 6 after execise. However a couple of times like today I cycled 7.4 miles my BG before cycling was 8.5 (food before cycling) and 9.0 after cycling. However the journey was divided into two ie I rode 2 miles messed about on a canal boat for a couple of hours then cycled again 5.4 miles.

On a previous occassion BG level around 6.6 before jogging 3 miles and after it was still 6.6

Anyone would like to put forward suggestions in simple terms if possible on what is happening? I realise that eating an hour or two before exercise has something to do with it.

Appreciate anyones input.

spideog

Are you T1 or T2?

As T1 myself I'd be delighted with those number you have, but I don't really know about what ranges you'd be aiming for if T2.

daisy1

Legend
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Dislikes
Cruelty towards animals.
Harbottle's profile says Type 2, diet only.

mc-

Harbottle said:
My BG before exercise has been high ie above 7 but down to 5.8 or 6 after execise. However a couple of times like today I cycled 7.4 miles my BG before cycling was 8.5 (food before cycling) and 9.0 after cycling. However the journey was divided into two ie I rode 2 miles messed about on a canal boat for a couple of hours then cycled again 5.4 miles.

On a previous occassion BG level around 6.6 before jogging 3 miles and after it was still 6.6

Anyone would like to put forward suggestions in simple terms if possible on what is happening? I realise that eating an hour or two before exercise has something to do with it.

Appreciate anyones input.

Hi,