HbA1c is back to normal!

Administrator

Staff Member
Administrator
Type of diabetes
Family member
Treatment type
I do not have diabetes
Here is my diabetes journey over the last eight months.

My name is Yoland Howden, I am a retired Primary School teacher and I will be sixty later this year. I am divorced with two grown up children. I have just started up my own interior design business. I also show my West Highland White Terriers.

I was diagnosed with T2 diabetes on 8th October 2013. I had been feeling unwell for a long time prior to diagnosis, exhausted, low energy levels, sweet food cravings after eating a decent meal, night sweats, raging thirsts, frequent urination especially at night and finally an optical disc haemorrhage. Family nagged me to go and see my GP as they were so worried about me.

Diagnosis was a real kick up the butt, I weighed 12 stone 11lbs and at only 5ft 1 inch tall I was morbidly obese with a BMI well over 30. I've been overweight for more than ten years but my health had taken a huge downward spiral in the space of twelve months. Because I felt so poorly and had no energy I stopped doing any exercise, a vicious cycle. My GP put me on Metformin and sent me on the DESMOND course to educate me on the disease and help me with correct nourishment, I found this extremely useful.

I joined Weight Watchers the same week and applied for the twelve weeks free vouchers through the area health authority ... it took a while as the scheme is new and no-one seemed to know much about it! I found being part of a group of fellow weight watchers enormously supportive; our leader, Emma Tromans, makes the meetings fun and I've made so many new friends through staying to the meetings.

This week at WW I weighed in at 8 stone 12.5lbs, that's a whopping 54.5lbs gone forever! I haven't weighed 8 stone something since just after giving birth to my son nearly 35 years ago!