Type 1 How to help

liverly

Hi, I'm not exactly sure if this is correct forum for this question so if it should be somewhere else, admins please move it :)
My boyfriend is Type 1 for over 20 years, so most of his life. We are together for 2 years and I'm still learning about it. I never knew anyone with diabetes, or at least I do not know about it, so I really admire how he manages to live with it. We do not live together and I rarely see him going low but when it happens it terrifies me. It happened maybe 2-3 times during our relationship but I obviously know it happens more often, just without me being around. Problem is that when I try to help when he's going low, he fights everything I try to do. I ask him to eat, he says no. I ask him to drink something sweet, he says no. First time it happened was when we were on a trip and out on the street. I didn't know what's happening when his movements were pretty uncoordinated and suddenly he just sat down on a pavement. I figured he might be low so I asked him to eat something and he didn't want to. After some time I finally managed to convince him to get up so we can sit at the bus stop and he decided on his own to eat. Later when we spoke about it, he told me that if I'll try to force him to do something, he'll be fighting it. This comes from the way his mother was trying to help - she obviously recognises when he's coming home and he's low but what she was doing was taking a glass of sweet drink, putting it under his nose and saying "drink" - and he didn't want to.