Medical centres and BG monitors.

Kenny3

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Was in on Friday to give a blood sample to check kidney.I asked why they had not got it from my first sample and they said the test lab forgot to do it. That does not fill me with confidence, if they can do that(or not) what else can they get wrong? Anyway the discussion turned to blood glucose meters and I told them I had bought my own and the nurse told me they did`nt give me a meter because they don`t think I need one at home. Apparently they have plenty of the meters whereas I was told by another staff member that they were very short of the meters, which is why I bought mine. Conflicting statements from staff members on the same team. Again; not a confidence booster. Anyway, I am glad I bought my own because, though I am not an expert by any means on these meters, could there be a possibility of contamination or false readings if the meter is used to test different people? I might be totally wrong here, but how many people on the forum have their own individual meter and prefer it that way? Kenny

Brunneria

Guru
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Hi Kenny,

Lots of questions :) so I will take them one by one. :)

Sadly, lab test results do go pearshaped, It may be an error in labelling, or contamination, or absent mindedness, but people are people, and that means they are fallible. Sad but true. But they just run them again - so long as someone notices. This time, you did, so well done on spotting the error and chasing it.