Regular Testing

Fiona I

As you know I am new to this any way after reading round on here and advice on my other posts I decided to start regular testing.
Here are my results from today so far.

8.30 PRE BREAKFAST 14.2 Natural Yoghurt and blueberrys
10.30 AFTER BREAKFAST 11.2
1.15 PRE LUNCH 8.3 Ham, cheese, egg, lettuce, tomatoe, spring Onion
3.15 AFTER LUNCH 7.5
6.00 PRE TEA 7.7 Gammon, Egg, 4 Breaded Mushrooms,Half Grilled Tomatoe, 5 Potatoe Wedges

What do you all think ???

B

badcat

if you're starting the day that high, it may be worth testing your BM's in the middle of the night as there are 2 things that can happen during the night to give you a high morning reading- 1) the liver can dump glucose around 2-7am raising BM's (Dawn phenomenon, part of a hormonal process involving growth hormone, cortisol and something else) or 2) if your BM's go too low overnight the liver will release glucose to bring them back up
If neither of those things apply then aim for a BM of around 7-8 at bedtime

angua

Fiona I said:
As you know I am new to this any way after reading round on here and advice on my other posts I decided to start regular testing.
Here are my results from today so far.

8.30 PRE BREAKFAST 14.2 Natural Yoghurt and blueberrys
10.30 AFTER BREAKFAST 11.2
1.15 PRE LUNCH 8.3 Ham, cheese, egg, lettuce, tomatoe, spring Onion
3.15 AFTER LUNCH 7.5
6.00 PRE TEA 7.7 Gammon, Egg, 4 Breaded Mushrooms,Half Grilled Tomatoe, 5 Potatoe Wedges

What do you all think ???

Hi Fiona, speaking as another new tester I also notice higher results in the morning (although not as high as yours) and other than the dawn phenomenon I can't work out why - maybe someone will come along to shed more light on that for you. When I started testing I had to stick to the same diet day after day to work out by elimination what made my bg go up - when I'd nailed the culprit, I could move on to another menu - it got a bit boring but it was successful .