Struggling with this

horrible_al

Type of diabetes
Type 2
I seem to be going round and round in circles. I keep reading stuff on here, trying to get food ideas, but it seems to me that unless you eat leafy veg, cauliflower, cabbage , sprouts etc, and salads you're never going to turn this round. The only veg I like are carrots, peas sweetcorn and occasionally a bit of broccoli. It seems to me that LCHF is not going to do me much good either. On top of all this I work as a bus driver 4 days a week, and every day is different. Start times, break times and finish times vary by the day. Which is one of the reasons I believe Metformin is unsuitable for me, as it gives me diarrhoea. I am going to see the vet on Thursday morning, and tell him I want off it. If he won't change my meds then I will just stop taking it. I will "roll the dice and take my chances." I am totally fed up with this, I have no quality of life at all. Still struggling to sleep, and I am beginning to wonder if it is an after effect of Tramadol, or if it's to do with this curse. I have.

Reactions: Anne999

Bluetit1802

Legend
Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
I am not a veg eater. Never have been. I like peas and put up with cauli and broccoli once a week. By testing I have found peas are OK for me. I have maintained a low carb diet successfully for 3 years without eating leafy veg, cabbage, sprouts etc. In fact I have lived happily for 69 years without eating them. Whilst they are full of nutrients, they aren't compulsory. Nutrients can be found elsewhere. If you like them, eat them. If you don't like them, don't eat them. Simples.

Which foods do you like? Make a list and concentrate on the foods you do like and can eat, then start from there. If you like, you can list your preferred foods here and maybe we can help. (Leave out the major carbs - you know they aren't good for us)

AndBreathe

Master
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
I reversed my Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only