Tresiba insulin

martina

Hello, I'm just looking for some advice. My daughter has been having a lot of hypo's during the night so her nurse suggested a switch to tresiba insulin. My daughter is 13 and I wondering what other peoples experiences of this insulin were. Thanks Martina

Bic

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Hello, I'm just looking for some advice. My daughter has been having a lot of hypo's during the night so her nurse suggested a switch to tresiba insulin. My daughter is 13 and I wondering what other peoples experiences of this insulin were. Thanks Martina
Hi Martina,
I have been using Tresiba for some two years now and I think it works wonderfully: fewer (almost none) night hypos and it helps balance overall BG much better. I am aware that things can be different for someone else (I am much older than you daughter and certainly lead a different life), but as far as my experience goes, Tresiba proved to be a very good change from Lantus. Worth a try.

robert72

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi @martina

I have been using Tresiba for just over 2 years and find it to be very flat overnight (and during the day). Certainly worth trying.

kaymck

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Hello Martina, just wanted to say that I have no experience with Tresiba but much experience with nocturnal hypos. I eventually went on a pump for this reason and am so happy with it. I haven't had any more hypos during sleep (for about2 years) and also have less during the day. I don't know if it's an option for your daughter.

Reactions: azure

donnellysdogs

Master
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
People that can't listen to other people's opinions.
People that can't say sorry.
Has anybody on tresiba had hypo's but the rebounds of highs after... Or had no hypo but levels just climb from 3am on ward?

I know Martinas daughter has temporarily come off the pump..

donnellysdogs

Master
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes