Type 1: Work related stress

samantha13

Hi everyone. I'm really struggling with managing my diabetes at work. I'm a nurse in a dementia unit.

I'm on mdi and recently have worked hard to test that I'm on the correct basal dose and that my ratios are correct.

I have two problems. 1) my job in itself is very stressful. Due to the nature of my clients illness my working day is unstructured. I have the freedom to take my two 30mins breaks when I like and I try to keep them to 11am 3pm and on a good day this works. On other days it may be 4pm before I even get a break and at that it will be rushed. The work itself is stressful due to ongoing staff shortages and an unsupportive manager. And problem no 2) I'm actively being bullied by a small group of care staff.

I work 3 12hour shifts per week and my place of work is just a 5min walk from my home. On my days off I manage my bg fairly well but the stress of work and the unpredictability on workdays mean my bg is pretty much always in the teens.

I could look for another job. I'm at a loss as to what to do. I've spoken to my manager about the bullying and she's assured me she's looking into it but she's friendly with the girls so I don't have much faith anything will change.

Sorry for the rambling any advice would be appreciated.

samantha13

I should say I'm often able to check and correct for example I might quickly check around 11am be say 15mmols take 4u to correct check again but I never go below 11mmols I think it might be the adrenaline and stress hormones. Should I take a bigger correction on workdays? I'd also thought of increasing my basal on workdays but then there is no telling if it will be a smooth or hectic day :/

Juicyj

Expert
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Hypos, rude people, ignorance and grey days.