Went mad at Xmas 2020 - better now

Oldvatr

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
I do not often post in this thread, but I was a T2D on orals. I am still a T2D on orals, I have been using a Low Carb Higher Fat (LCHF) diet for some 6 years now, and my last HbA1c was 40. So I am in reasonable control. Or at least I was until Xmas Eve when I suspended my WOE in favour of some seasonal fare (lots of). I had a Carbfest. I had party snax on the Eve, Mince Pie. pastries, crisps, Pringles, Cheese straws, Xmas Cake - you name it. Next day had traditional turkey dinner, roasted spuds, carrots, parsnips, bread pudding. Followed by Plum Pud and Brandy Butter, The carb outrage contined till New year with choccies cake etc until NYE, but started tapering it off gradually.

Last night I surveyed the damage and totted up the records. The following results are averaged by at least a week, or up to a month for the pre Xmas totals

These are my declared results given as PRE / 2hr PP / 4hr PP in mmol/l (UK)

December = 5.6 / 6.5 / 5.4

Xmas Week = 5.8 / 8.7 / 6.3

Post NYE = 5.8 / 5.6 /5.5

I am surprised by these results. Yes, I did see a couple of 10's and a few 9's at the 2hrPP time, but they dropped down after., so I am still diabetic, but my beta cells are still doing what they are meant to. Yes, if I had a Libre, then it would show something nasty going on, but my results log ties in quite well with my HbA1c so I am not too bothered,

All in all I survived a tasty Xmas, and am back on the wagon again till my birthday later on in the year,

Last edited:
Reactions: simo_M and Rachox

hankjam

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only