What can I expect from GP re initial diagnosis of Pre diabetes info?

Libbaloo

I am a Newbie to this site and news that I am prediabetic. GP gave me news over phone in a ten minute call. No other info or links to advice re this web resource but just advice to lose weight and review in New Year. Given the fact that it seems this 'grey area' could make all the difference for transitioning into Type two or not, I am surprised there isn't more support from the surgery at this stage. They seem to wait til type 2 diagnosis before referral to the diabetes clinic.

What I am gleaning is there are many people in the grey area and time and resources aren't available other than general lifestyle and diet public health awareness.

With yesterday's media coverage about the National Statistics, I daresay this site will soon have lots more views and members registering.

Thank you for being here.

Reactions: 2 people

ButtterflyLady

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Dislikes
Acceptance of health treatment claims that are not adequately supported by evidence. I dislike it when people sell ineffective and even harmful alternative health products to exploit the desperation of people with chronic illness.
I am a Newbie to this site and news that I am prediabetic. GP gave me news over phone in a ten minute call. No other info or links to advice re this web resource but just advice to lose weight and review in New Year. Given the fact that it seems this 'grey area' could make all the difference for transitioning into Type two or not, I am surprised there isn't more support from the surgery at this stage. They seem to wait til type 2 diagnosis before referral to the diabetes clinic.

What I am gleaning is there are many people in the grey area and time and resources aren't available other than general lifestyle and diet public health awareness.