Aaaaaaargh!!!

Hedonista

Type of diabetes
Prediabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
Just in the middle of some baking. I've never used sugar substitutes before. The recipe I used has Xylitol in it, but I bought Truvia instead, cos I have dogs. Anyway, point is, I added the same amount of Truvia as the recipe gave for Xylitol, but I think Truvia is much sweeter? Have I just added far to much sweetener to my lovingly made cheesecake? And if so, am I right in assuming that as well as tasting bad, it's likely to poison us?!

Gerds

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
Unfairness
Just in the middle of some baking. I've never used sugar substitutes before. The recipe I used has Xylitol in it, but I bought Truvia instead, cos I have dogs. Anyway, point is, I added the same amount of Truvia as the recipe gave for Xylitol, but I think Truvia is much sweeter? Have I just added far to much sweetener to my lovingly made cheesecake? And if so, am I right in assuming that as well as tasting bad, it's likely to poison us?!
Hi hedonista

I think Truvia is based on Stevia which is a herb. Xylitol is a sugar alcohol. debates about sugar alcohols and whether they stimulate the secretion of insulin. But you know what ....see for xmas day......i'm not worrying too much. we are having a chocolate cream cherry mousse with a little stevia. can hardly wait. i have an amazing partner who cooks me amazing things to help me keep my low carb healthy fat diet. 5 years now and so far so good.

Robbity

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Your post definitely belongs in @Robinredbreast 's scream thread!

Stevia on it's own is extremely sweet and in quantity can leave an unpleasant after taste. Apparently the main ingredient in Truvia is erythritol not stevia, but both are safe for diabetic use. Neither of them appear to have any nasty side effects, so apart from a possible odd and oversweet taste from the stevia I don't think you'll come to any real harm.