ignorance from other diabetics about our treatment

Mep

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Insulin
I was diagnosed type 2 aged 40
10 years earlier I had bouts of chronic pancreatitis I later discovered I was born with a split pancreas (pancreas divisum)

Since being diagnosed I was put on bolus and basal insulin as well as metformin

I carb count and just recently been on a DAFNE course

I think I am type 1 as I have been told that my pancreas is all but dead

I have never been overweight and maintained a steady weight throughout adult life

Type 2 folk I find are ridiculed by people who should know better

I work in a hospital and a non diabetic colleague of mine scolded me once for eating some chips saying diabetics should not eat ANY chips at all, I was in quite the mood for retaliation as I countered with 'It makes me sick how people can snipe at others as if they themselves are perfect' before scoffing the rest of my chips

Mod edit to remove inappropriate reference to work colleague.

That's a worry for your colleague to say that to you :eek: although not surprising though as I've had a lot of "should you be eating that" from people in the past.