Freestyle Libre

joanne75

Hi I am thinking about getting the Libre but firstly can someone who has one come along and answers some questions for me.

1) How much would you say it costs per month to maintain?
2) Do you wear the sensor 24hrs a day or can you wear it as and when?
3) Does it have to go on the arm, kind of ugly if your out wearing a short sleeve top?
4) Can you get any type of funding of the NHS?
5) Is it accurate?

Thank you ever so much J xx

Peppergirl

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi joanne75

I have been using the libre since August 2016 and love it. Hopefully I can answer your questions:

1) 1 sensor lasts 14 days, so for continuous use (2 sensors) it costs £100 pm + post
2) once you activate the sensor, if you remove it then you can't reattach it. It's 24 hours a day. It's on for the maximum of 14 days (the sensor expires after 14 days). Just to note, I've only had issues with 2 sensors (fell off during hot weather) and Abbott replaced them no problem. I have no issues whatsoever wearing the sensor all the time. It's comforting for me TBH.
3) I put mine on the back of my arm but I don't tend to wear sleeveless. Not sure if you can wear it anywhere else, seems OK on the arm to me.
4) no funding on the NHS (I've tried a few times, at each appointment I tell the DSN/GP that I love it, they agree but can do nothing yet).
5) I find that it is accurate, in that it gives a very good view of glucose control. Not as accurate as testing blood, but I have found that sometimes my Accu chek mobile gives the same result. I would say most of the time, the Libre runs a bit lower (around 1mmol) than the blood testing, but still gives you a great indication of where your glucose is heading (low or high or steady).