Closed Loop on the NHS

Steve3

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Hi all,
I'm after a bit of advice from people who are closed looping on the NHS. I've been using the Omnipod for four years and have recently started using a Dexcom G5 and have become increasingly interested in closed looping. I have used the HAPP app for around a month now, generally following its basal and bolus advice, and have run autotune to adjust my basal rates.

This has resulted in rather fantastic blood sugars which I am keen to attempt to automate. I've managed to purchase two suitable pumps (one as backup) and have ordered a Rileylink from the USA to run Loop as the closed loop app.

So my actual query! What support have others found from their consultants and nurses for closed looping? Ideally I'd like a supply of reservoirs and infusion sets made available whilst at the same time keeping the Omnipod as an option for when I potentially don't want to loop. If this isn't an option can the reservoirs and infusion sets be purchased from an online pharmacy?

Thanks in advance

slip

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
LOl.....Steve meet Tim, Tim, Steve................!

Steve3

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
@tim2000s Thanks all, I've just received an email telling me that my Rileylink has been despatched so I'm hoping to start closed looping, once the Rileylink arrives and I am confident with the Loop settings. I have a small number of infusion sets and reservoirs which were supplied with the pumps but would like to find a European / English source of supplies I can purchase before my next consultant meeting in August. I'd love to be able to show what a change closed looping can make in the hope that the hospital will agree to supply future requirements.

tim2000s

Expert
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Other